Review pixevety's Privacy Pledge | pixevety Image Management

Terms & Privacy

pixevety Pledge

Trust, respect and the prevention of harm

Here at pixevety, we acknowledge the positive impact that internet and services like social media have on everyday life. However, we also understand that greater care needs to be taken when using, sharing or publishing content to prevent harm to others.

pixevety’s philosophy is founded on the core principles of Trust & Respect, especially when it comes to the use, sharing and publishing of content. It is our genuine commitment to try to prevent harm at all times, especially to children.

All our efforts in the development of our platform are based on this core philosophy.

The pixevety Pledge

With this in mind, we have introduced the ‘pixevety pledge’. Whenever a pixevety user requests Access or accepts an invitation to a Gallery, they are considered to be taking this pledge. In doing so they are:

  1. Acknowledging that Access to another’s Gallery does NOT imply automatic permission to use, share or publish that Gallery’s content;
  2. Committing to first checking the other Gallery permissions before using, sharing or publishing that Gallery’s content;
  3. Promising not to use, share or publish a Gallery’s content in a way that could reasonably be expected to cause harm to others; and
  4. Confirming that the above undertakings apply, even after content leaves the pixevety platform.

Access ≠ Permission

Most photo sharing sites today treat access to content as implied permission to use, share or publish that content. Indeed, many ‘freemium’ sites virtually take ownership of your content.

Here at pixevety, you retain full ownership of your content. We take no rights over that content. With the pixevety pledge, we make it clear to all users that Access ≠ Permission to use.

What is Permission?

Permission to use, share or publish another party’s content is only truly achievable if that party knows the context within which the content will be used. For example, depending on its subject, a photo alone may not cause harm, but posting it on social media with negative comments is unlikely to come with permission.

Checking Permission

By using pixevety’s suite of Privacy Settings, and specifically its Media Access/Usage settings, users are given more control over their content. Further, each and every piece of Content incorporates details of a Gallery’s permissions in the Restriction Tab based on their Gallery’s Privacy Settings.

As a result, it is possible for a pixevety user at any time to check a Gallery’s permissions by:

  1. View level: Filtering, based on restrictions to see what content is available to use, share or publish; and
  2. Content level: Drilling down into the content itself to review the Restrictions Tab to see what restrictions are in place for that particular piece of content.

Two levels of Permission available on pixevety

1. General Permissions

By taking the above steps, a user can check that they have what pixevety calls ‘General Permissions’ in a Gallery to use, share or publish Content. If the Gallery could reasonably have expected the Content to be used, shared or published in the way planned, it could be considered OK to rely on the Restrictions generated by the application Privacy Settings, or ‘General Permissions’.

2. Specific Permission [Coming soon]

Of course, the only truly safe way to be certain you have Permission is to provide the Gallery with context of the use, sharing or publishing and request ‘Specific Permission’ in that regard.

In the pixevety platform, a user will be able to request Specific Permissions on a single photo or a collection of photos for a defined period of time and for a defined purpose. The user requesting Specific Permission will also have the ability to provide more details or links to give context.

This Specific Permission will be via notification and e-mail.

Our platform will enable users requesting Specific Permission to track those collections where Specific Permission is obtained.

In the meantime, our recommendation is, when in doubt, send an e-mail to the Gallery Owner or Administrator and ask for Specific Permission.

The Promise

Here at pixevety, we take the promise not to intentionally harm others.

Where you have access to another’s content, you have the ability to flag content and request a Gallery Owner to immediately remove it by supplying a reason. Concerns about causing harm via the platform and the broader pixevety pledge can be reported to our privacy officer: privacy@pixevety.com.

pixevety believes that everyone deserves a ‘fair go’, and not all breaches of the pixevety pledge will be serious. However, where serious or repeated breaches of the pixevety pledge occur, we reserve the right to unilaterally take action (e.g. blocking Access or terminating accounts) to protect users and other parties.

The Enduring Pledge

pixevety believes that the pixevety pledge should be enduring. It does not end, and it continues even after a user leaves pixevety or content is downloaded off the pixevety platform.

With this in mind, if you are concerned that someone who would like access to your content may not follow the pixevety pledge, you should carefully manage access by controlling what they have access to in the Folder Settings section or by using the STRICT or CUSTOM Privacy Categories (see Privacy Settings).

Start typing and press Enter to search